Town of Cove receives $106,542 Community Development Block Grant from AEDC

LITTLE ROCK, Arkansas (October 10, 2017) – Governor Asa Hutchinson presented grants totaling $1,824,282 to 11 Arkansas cities and counties at a ceremony held at the State Capitol on October 10, 2017. The funds originate from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development through the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program. The Town of Cove was awarded a $106,542 grant for Phase III of improvements to Old Cove Road. The grant will be administered by the Arkansas Economic Development Commission’s Grants Division. To be eligible for CDBG funds, communities must have a population of less than 50,000 and at least 51% of the persons benefiting from the project must be of low- to moderate-income. For more information about the Arkansas Rural Services Block Grant Program or other funding opportunities, please contact the Division of Rural Services at 1-888-RURALAR. Cove Pictured from Left to Right: Grants Manager Brenda Rowell of AEDC, Tracee McKenna of Western Arkansas Planning and Development District, Robert Isaacs, ARDC Commissioner Claude Graves, Mayor Joan Headley, Governor Asa Hutchinson, ARDC Commissioner Frank Lisko, AEDC VP of Operations Amy Fecher, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, ARDC Commissioner Lynn Caldwell Hawkins, ARDC Commissioner Jamie Pafford-Gresham, ARDC Commissioner Davis Bell