Mountainburg Receives Rural Services Block Grant

Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC VP of Operations Amy Fecher and Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $971,204.94 to 14 rural communities selected for funding through the Rural Services Block Grant Program for Fiscal Year 2017. The grant awards were distributed October 13th at an awards ceremony held in the Governor’s Reception Room at the Arkansas State Capitol. In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Services Block Grant award on behalf of Mountainburg in Crawford County. City of Mountainburg is receiving $75,000 to renovate its community center. The Arkansas Economic Development Commission, Division of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to select the Rural Services Block Grant recipients.  The grant program is funded through HUD’s Small Cities Community Development Block Grant Program and is administered for the State and Rural Services through a partnership with the Arkansas Economic Development Commission, Grants Division. Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population and that are 51% or above on the low-to-moderate income scale are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge’s office. For more information about the Arkansas Rural Services Block Grant Program or other funding opportunities, please contact the Division of Rural Services at 1-888-RURALAR. Mountainburg Pictured from left to right are:  Tracee McKenna, WAPDD, Carol Moon, Mayor Neal Moon, Patricia Wagner, Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC VP Amy Fecher, ARDC Commissioner Jamie Pafford-Gresham, Rural Services Director Alex Johnston, Brenda Rowell, AEDC