Mountainburg Receives Rural Services Block Grant

Little Rock, AR: Governor Asa Hutchinson, Arkansas Economic Development Commission Executive Director Mike Preston and Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $996,958.66 to 15 rural communities selected for funding through the Rural Services Block Grant Program for Fiscal Year 2019. The grant awards were distributed October 18th at an awards ceremony held in the Governor’s Reception Room at the Arkansas State Capitol. In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Services Block Grant award on behalf of Mountainburg in Crawford County. The City of Mountainburg was awarded $73,150.00 to build a new fire station. The AEDC Division of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to select the Rural Services Block Grant recipients. The grant program is funded through HUD’s Small Cities Community Development Block Grant Program and is administered for the State and the Division of Rural Services through a partnership with the AEDC Grants Division. Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population and that are 51% or above on the low-to-moderate income scale are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge’s office. For more information about the Rural Services Block Grant Program or other funding opportunities, please contact the Division of Rural Services at 1-888-RURALAR. Mountainburg Pictured from Left to Right: Charlotte Douglas, Tracee McKenna, Mayor Neal Moon, Brian Beckham, Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, ARDC Chair David Johnston, Rural Services Director Alex Johnston, ARDC Commissioner Brent Keener, and Carol Bray