Mansfield Receives Rural Community Grant

Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC Deputy Director Amy Fecher, and AEDC Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $171,232 to 17 rural communities selected for Fiscal Year 2016 Cycle II funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs.   The grant awards were distributed at a February 9th awards ceremony held in the Governor’s Reception Room at the Arkansas State Capitol.

In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Fire Protection Grant award on behalf of Mansfield in Sebastian County. The Mansfield FD received $8,942 to purchase new radios, beepers and turnout equipment. Additionally, the city of Mansfield recieved $74,000 to renovate the Dixie Theater into a community center.

The Division of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs in three cycles each year.   Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge’s office.  

All Arkansans are invited to attend the 2016 Arkansas Rural Development Conference in Rogers May 24-26.   Attendees will learn about additional programs and funding opportunities available to Arkansas’ rural communities. Over 75 state legislators will join over 600 mayors, county judges, other state and federal officials, and community leaders to participate in this annual conference.

For more information about the Rural Development Conference or Division of Rural Services grant programs, please contact the Arkansas Economic Development Commission at 1-888-RURALAR.

Pictured from left to right are: AEDC Grants Manager Jennifer Chunn, WAPDD Grants Manager Tracee McKenna, Senator Terry Rice, Mayor Larry Austin, Representative Jon Eubanks, Becky Walker, ARDC Commissioner Lonnie Turner, Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Rural Services Director Alex Johnston, ARDC Chair Jamie Pafford-Gresham, AEDC Deputy Director Amy Fecher, and AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston